Beauty in the ordinary

Blossoming trees, cast-iron lampposts, and brick buildings in the sharp light of sunrise yesterday.  Our city has wonderful brick buildings, including the old mill buildings on the river.

The gentle movements of air over the lake surface.  Another day, near the lake, the trunks of tall pine trees reflected in the vernal pools around them.  There was a block of styrofoam in the water, clarifying that this was our world rather than some other planet or wood between the worlds.

Around the house

New wall-mounted bookshelves in our room and a new set up for our home shrine.  Last time we established such good order in our living space, a whirlwind descended right away.  We still have a way to go in organizing things this time. . .

After failing miserably the last time I tried, I made some decent lasagne last weekend.  My sister told me it was easier with the “oven-ready” noodles and she was right.  It was part of our celebration of the canonizations of Pope John the XXIII and Pope John Paul II.

Praying

Once again, a novena to Our Lady Undoer of Knots.  For the same people as before.  And around the same time of year as the last time I prayed it.

Reading

I read The Way of Trust and Love by Jacques Philippe over Lent.  Now I’m almost finished with Time for God by the same author.  With my spiritual director, I am reading a book called Finding Sanctuary.

Louise Gluck in May.  Read Meadowlands, uncertain about it as a whole.  Then some earlier poems of hers.

The title essay of Joseph Brodsky’s collection Less Than One.

Yesterday, in a bookstore, most of Czeslaw Milosz’s “last poems.”  Something that was always present in his work clarified and distilled in these.

Isaiah and Matthew.  Song of Solomon.

I want to read Journal of a Soul and Witness to Hope but not sure I have the stamina.  I ordered A Letter in the Scroll the other day; the title allured.  My brother recently heard a lecture by Rabbi Sacks.

Grateful for

I am playing the recorder again.  The wooden student recorder I bought last month once belonged to a religious sister with the name Soeur Marie-Joseph.  The music book the owner of Courtly Music Unlimited helped me choose is the second volume of Hugh Orr’s Basic Recorder Technique.  It is right at my level and incorporates a lot of Renaissance and Baroque music.  Courtly music unlimited. . .  a way to think of heaven: The Lord is our Savior. We shall sing to stringed instruments, in the house of the Lord, all the days of our life.

WERKI

An English horn, a drum, a viola making music

In a house on a hill amid forests in autumn.

A large view from there onto bends of the river.

 

I still want to correct this world,

Yet I think mostly of them, and they have all died.

Also about their unknown country.

Its geography, says Swedenborg, cannot be transferred to maps.

For there, as one has been, so one sees.

And it is possible even there to make mistakes; for instance, to wander about

Without realizing you are already on the other side.

 

As I, perhaps, just dream those rusty-golden forests,

The glitter of the river in which I swam in my youth,

The October from my poems with its air like wine.

 

The priests taught us about salvation and damnation.

Now I have not the slightest notion of those things.

I have felt on my shoulder the hand of my Guide,

Yet He didn’t mention punishment, didn’t promise a reward.

 

Czeslaw Milosz